EURODIG

The European Dialogue on Internet Governance (EuroDIG) is an open platform encouraging discussion and exchange in an informal and independent manner on the issues of internet governance between the players concerned throughout Europe. It was created in 2008 by a collective of key stakeholders representing various groups of European participants working in the area of internet governance. 

OFCOM and EURODIG

EuroDIG was founded on the initiative of a group of people active on internet governance issues. Responding to a genuine need at European level, they set up this structure in 2008. OFCOM is one of the founders of EuroDIG and has been supporting it - logistically and financially - to the present date.  

EURODIG'S activities and structure

The various stakeholders taking part in the EuroDIG network include a substantial number of representatives of civil society, the private sector and the academic and technical communities, as well as European governments, institutions and organisations.

As with the IGF, the EuroDIG system rests on co-operation between players. This discussion platform makes it possible to better identify the challenges which the various stakeholders face and thereby to improve decision-making in other structures. Here, dialogue acts as a catalyst.

EuroDIG's goal is twofold: on the one hand, the aim is to help European players to exchange their viewpoints and discuss best practice in relation to the questions which will be debated at the global meetings of the IGF. It is essential to identify common ground shared by all the European players but also to highlight the diversity of the experience acquired by the various players. In addition, EuroDIG wishes to make European players more aware of the relevance of the subjects tackled in the context of the worldwide IGF but also to enhance the new multi-partite discussion format developed by and around the IGF.

Above all, EuroDIG has contributed to building a common commitment in Europe to a frank and open discussion which includes the young.

Specialist staff
Last modification 17.05.2016

Top of page

https://www.bakom.admin.ch/content/bakom/en/home/das-bakom/internationale-aktivitaeten/taetigkeiten-des-bakom-in-internationalen-organisationen/eurodig.html

EURODIG

Der Europäische Dialog zur Internet-Gouvernanz (European Dialogue on Internet Governance, EuroDIG) ist eine offene Plattform, mit der ein informeller und unabhängiger Dialog zu Fragen der Internet-Gouvernanz zwischen den betroffenen Akteuren in ganz Europa gefördert werden soll. Er wurde 2008 von wichtigen Stakeholdern geschaffen, die verschiedene europäische Interessengruppen aus dem Bereich der Internetverwaltung vertreten.

Das BAKOM und der EURODIG

Der EuroDIG wurde 2008 von einer Gruppe von im Bereich der Internetverwaltung tätigen Personen geschaffen, da diese einen echten Bedarf für ein solches Forum auf europäischer Ebene festgestellt hatten. Das BAKOM ist einer der Gründer des EuroDIG und unterstützt ihn bis heute logistisch und finanziell.

Aktivitäten und Struktur des EURODIG

Zu den verschiedenen Interessengruppen des EuroDIG gehören zahlreiche Akteure aus der Zivilgesellschaft, der Wirtschaft, dem akademischen und technischen Bereich sowie europäische Regierungen, Institutionen und Organisationen.

Wie das IGF beruht auch der EuroDIG auf einer Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Akteuren. Dank dieser Dialogplattform können die Herausforderungen für die verschiedenen Interessengruppen besser ermittelt und damit die Entscheidungsfindung in anderen Strukturen verbessert werden. Hier wirkt der Dialog wie ein Katalysator.

Der EuroDIG verfolgt zwei Ziele: Einerseits soll den europäischen Akteuren geholfen werden, ihre Standpunkte auszutauschen und über Best Practices zu Themen zu diskutieren, die bei den globalen Treffen des IGF behandelt werden. Dabei gilt es, die Gemeinsamkeiten zwischen europäischen Akteuren zu eruieren, aber auch unterschiedliche Erfahrungen aufzuzeigen. Andererseits will der EuroDIG die europäischen Akteure auf die Relevanz der im Kontext des IGF behandelten Themen aufmerksam machen und das neue, mehrseitige Diskussionsformat hervorheben, das durch und um das IGF geschaffen wurde.

Der EuroDIG hat ausserdem wesentlich zu einem gemeinsamen Engagement für eine direkte, offene und auch junge Menschen mit einschliessende Diskussion in Europa beigetragen.

Fachkontakt
Letzte Änderung 17.05.2016

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.bakom.admin.ch/content/bakom/de/home/das-bakom/internationale-aktivitaeten/taetigkeiten-des-bakom-in-internationalen-organisationen/eurodig.html