The ITU, a link in the chain of the information society

The ITU is a specialised agency of the United Nations and an important player in the evolution of telecommunications and information and communication technologies (ICT) in the world. It promotes the advancement of telecommunications in the world and explores approaches to combating the digital divide which exists between the developed countries and the less developed countries. The ITU is also a universal centre for management of the frequency spectrum and satellite orbits, and a global forum where technical standards which guarantee the interconnection of communication systems are drawn up.

Founded in 1865, the ITU is the oldest intergovernmental organisation for technical cooperation. Today, it is made up of 193 Member States and more than 700 non-state members (NGOs, equipment suppliers, universities, etc.). Switzerland, and OFCOM in particular, are closely involved in the ITU, which is based in Geneva.

OFCOM and the ITU

OFCOM represents Switzerland in the ITU, in close collaboration with the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA) and the players in the Swiss telecommunications and ICT markets. Within it, the Office expresses the positions of Switzerland and defends its interests and those of international Geneva.

The supreme body of the ITU is the Conference of Plenipotentiaries, which meets every four years. OFCOM led the Swiss delegation to the most recent Conference of Plenipotentiaries, which took place from 20 October to 7 November in Busan, South Korea (PP-14).

The Council, which is the managing body of the ITU, meets annually in Geneva in the interval between the Union's Conferences of Plenipotentiaries. At the last Conference of Plenipotentiaries, Switzerland was re-elected as one of the 48 countries sitting on the Council. The statute of host State of the Union and the constructive support that the Swiss delegates bring to the work of the ITU explain why Switzerland is a valued member of the Council.

On 17 May 2015, Switzerland organised a reception on the occasion of the festivities marking the 150th anniversary of the ITU. The celebrations of the ITU's 150 years brought together 1000 guests in Geneva. OFCOM and Switzerland's permanent mission to the Office of the United Nations and to the other international organisations in Geneva organised the event jointly.

Activities and structure of the ITU

The ITU is organised into three main sectors of activity within which OFCOM is active: 

  • The Radiocommunication Sector (ITU-R), which has the task of ensuring the rational, fair efficient and economical use of the frequency spectrum by all radiocommunication services, including those which use satellite orbits, and is tasked with undertaking studies and adopting recommendations on radiocommunications issues.
  • The Telecommunication Standardisation Sector (ITU-T), composed of the Study Commissions of the ITU's Telecommunication Standardisation Sector, which brings together experts from all over the world to draw up international standards. These are known as ITU-T Recommendations and are a key element of the global infrastructure of information and communications technologies (ICT).
  • The Telecommunication Development Sector (ITU-D), which encourages international co-operation and solidarity with a view to providing technical aid to developing countries and creating, developing and improving telecommunications/ICT equipment and networks in these countries.

The ITU has an annual budget of approximately CHF 160 million.

Specialist staff
Last modification 30.04.2013

Top of page

https://www.bakom.admin.ch/content/bakom/en/home/das-bakom/internationale-aktivitaeten/taetigkeiten-des-bakom-in-internationalen-organisationen/die-itu-als-bindeglied-der-informationsgesellschaft.html

Die ITU als Bindeglied der Informationsgesellschaft

Die Internationale Fernmeldeunion (ITU) ist eine Sonderorganisation der UNO und ein wichtiger Akteur bei der weltweiten Entwicklung der Telekommunikation und der Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien (IKT). Sie fördert den Fortschritt im Fernmeldewesen und sucht Lösungen zur Überwindung der digitalen Kluft zwischen Industriestaaten und weniger entwickelten Ländern. Darüber hinaus ist die ITU auch ein Angelpunkt im Bereich der Verwaltung des Funkfrequenzspektrums und der Satelliten-Orbitalpositionen sowie ein weltweites Forum, in dem technische Normen zur Gewährleistung der Interkonnektion von Kommunikationssystemen erarbeitet werden.

Die ITU wurde 1865 gegründet und ist die älteste zwischenstaatliche Organisation im Bereich der technischen Zusammenarbeit. Sie zählt heute 193 Mitgliedstaaten und mehr als 700 nichtstaatliche Mitglieder (NGOs, Gerätehersteller, Universitäten usw.). Die Schweiz bzw. das BAKOM engagiert sich stark innerhalb der ITU, deren Sitz in Genf ist.

Das BAKOM und die ITU

Das BAKOM vertritt die Schweiz in der ITU und arbeitet dabei eng mit dem Eidgenössischen Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten (EDA) sowie den Akteuren auf dem Schweizer Fernmelde- und IKT-Markt zusammen. Das BAKOM vertritt die Standpunkte und Interessen der Schweiz sowie des internationalen Genfs. 

Oberstes Organ der ITU ist die Konferenz der Regierungsbevollmächtigten (PP), die alle vier Jahre stattfindet. An der letzten PP vom 20. Oktober bis 7. November 2014 in Busan (PP-14) führte das BAKOM die Schweizer Delegation an. 

Der Rat ist das leitende Organ der ITU und tagt zwischen den PP jeweils jährlich in Genf. An der letzten PP wurde der Sitz der Schweiz im ITU-Rat, in dem 48 Mitgliedstaaten Einsitz nehmen, bestätigt. Als Gaststaat und wegen ihres konstruktiven Beitrags an den Arbeiten der ITU wird die Schweiz als Ratsmitglied geschätzt. 

Am 17. Mai 2015 führte die Schweiz anlässlich des 150-jährigen Bestehens der ITU einen Empfang durch. An den Feierlichkeiten in Genf nahmen rund 1000 Gäste teil. Der Anlass wurde vom BAKOM und der ständigen Mission der Schweiz bei der UNO sowie anderen internationalen Organisationen in Genf gemeinsam organisiert.

Aktivitäten und Strukturen der ITU

Die ITU ist in drei grosse Tätigkeitsbereiche gegliedert, in denen auch das BAKOM aktiv ist: 

  • Der Sektor für Funk (ITU-R) sorgt für die rationelle, gerechte, wirksame und wirtschaftliche Nutzung des Funkfrequenzspektrums durch alle Funkdienste, einschliesslich derer, welche die Umlaufbahn der geostationären Satelliten nutzen. Weiter gehört es zu seiner Aufgabe, zu Fragen des Funkwesens Untersuchungen durchzuführen und Empfehlungen abzugeben.  
  • Der Sektor für Telekommunikationsnormung (ITU-T) besteht aus Studienkommissionen für die Standardisierung im Fernmeldewesen, in denen Fachleute aus der ganzen Welt internationale Normen erarbeiten. Diese Empfehlungen werden ITU-T-Standards genannt und sind ein zentrales Element der weltweiten Infrastruktur für Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien (IKT). 
  • Der Sektor für Telekommunikationsentwicklung (ITU-D) fördert die internationale Zusammenarbeit und Solidarität, um in den Entwicklungsländern technische Hilfe zu leisten und dort Fernmeldeeinrichtungen und -netze bzw. IKT zu schaffen und weiterzuentwickeln. 

Die ITU verfügt über ein jährliches Budget von rund 160 Millionen Franken.

Fachkontakt
Letzte Änderung 30.04.2013

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.bakom.admin.ch/content/bakom/de/home/das-bakom/internationale-aktivitaeten/taetigkeiten-des-bakom-in-internationalen-organisationen/die-itu-als-bindeglied-der-informationsgesellschaft.html