Internet domain names

Among other things, domain names make it possible to assign a unique address to every website. These names, such as ofcom.ch, are currently used very often, primarily for accessing websites or sending e-mails. Traditional extensions, such as .ch or .com, will be augmented by new top level domain names related to brands or geographic names. In this context, the Confederation has set a strategy which seeks to protect the country’s public interest in relation to the management of domain names. Furthermore, it has acquired the extension .swiss from ICANN (Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers). The registration of .swiss domain names is possible from autumn 2015.

In order to be able to receive information sent via the internet (e.g. a page displayed in the navigator), every computer must have a unique address consisting of series of numbers, the so-called IP address. They are substituted by names which are easier to memorise, so that users must not concern themselves with these numbers. These are known as domain names, which generally consist of sequences of letters separated by dots. The domain name system (DNS) is sub-divided into several levels. In the example www.admin.ch  "ch" represents the top-level domain and "admin" the second-level domain. 

Every second-level domain is unique and can be registered only once under a top-level domain (TLD). 

In most cases, registration is on a "first come, first served" basis, i.e. the first person to apply for a domain name becomes its holder. 

At the global level, administration of the DNS and the introduction of new top-level domains (TLDs) is entrusted to the private organisation Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN).

ICANN (Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers)

Second-level domain names can be assigned by appointed "registries", which are used by ICANN for the administration of top-level domains, or by the "registrars" accredited by ICANN. 

Accreditation agreement for registrars

ICANN currently accredits domain-name registrars

The applicant for a domain name is free to use the registrar of his choice. Many registrars are able to offer registrations in the same domain at different rates.


Strategy of the Confederation for the operation of internet domain names

Domain names for the internet are central to our everyday digital life. In order to enable the Confederation to adequately represent the interests of Switzerland on the global market, the Federal Council has adopted a strategy on 27 February 2013. Attractive domain names should always be sufficiently and reliably available and must be managed transparently.

.ch internet domain names

Technical management of the .ch domain in relation to the global internet domain name system is provided by SWITCH after the Foundation won the public tender which was launched in April 2016. Since the entry into force of the Ordinance on Internet Domains (ODI) in 2015, SWITCH can no longer offer registration of a .ch domain name directly to end customers.

.swiss

The new .swiss internet domain is available to the Swiss community since September 2015. For this purpose, the Confederation has signed a contract with ICANN (the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers), the corporation which manages internet addresses. To promote competition and diversity in the domain name system, new extensions for domain names are gradually being made available. The 22 traditional generic extensions (e.g. .com, .org or .info) are joined by thematic (e.g. .hotel, .bank), geographical (e.g. .berlin, .florida) or brand-related extensions. This new feature is the result of a decision by ICANN.

Specialist staff
Last modification 08.09.2015

Top of page

https://www.bakom.admin.ch/content/bakom/en/home/digital-und-internet/internet/internet-domain-namen.html

Internet Domain Namen

Domain-Namen ermöglichen unter anderem, jeder Website eine einmalige Adresse zuzuweisen. Solche Namen, wie zum Beispiel bakom.ch, werden heute sehr häufig verwendet, vor allem für den Zugriff auf Websites oder den Versand von E-Mails. Zu den althergebrachten Endungen wie .ch oder .com kommen nach und nach neue markenspezifische oder geografische Domain-Namen der ersten Ebene hinzu. Vor diesem Hintergrund hat der Bund eine Strategie festgelegt, die das öffentliche Interesse unseres Landes im Bereich der Domainnamenverwaltung wahren soll. Ausserdem hat er die Endung .swiss bei der ICANN (Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers), der globalen Verwaltungsstelle von Internetadressen, erworben. Die Registrierung eines Domain-Namens unter ".swiss" kann seit Herbst 2015 beantragt werden.

Um die über das Internet verschickten Informationen (zum Beispiel Anzeigen einer Seite im Navigator) empfangen zu können, muss jeder Computer über eine einmalige, aus Zahlenreihen bestehende Adresse, die so genannte IP-Adresse, verfügen. Damit die Benutzer sich diese Zahlen nicht merken müssen, werden sie durch Namen ersetzt, die sich leichter einprägen. Es handelt sich dabei um die so genannten Domain-Namen, die in der Regel aus durch Punkte getrennten Buchstabenfolgen bestehen. Das Domain-Namen-System (DNS) unterteilt sich in mehrere Ebenen. Im Beispiel www.admin.ch stellt "ch" die Domain der ersten Ebene und "admin" jene der zweiten Ebene dar.

Jeder Domain-Name der zweiten Ebene ist einzigartig und kann nur einmal in einer Domain der ersten Ebene (TLD) registriert werden. 

In den meisten Fällen erfolgt die Registrierung nach dem Grundsatz "first come, first serve", d.h. die erste Person, die einen Domain-Namen beantragt, wird dessen Inhaber. 

Auf globaler Ebene wurden die Verwaltung des DNS und die Einführung von neuen Domains der ersten Ebene (TLD) der privaten Organisation ICANN anvertraut.

ICANN (Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers) (in Englisch)

Die Domain-Namen der zweiten Ebene können durch bestimmte Registerbetreiber (registry), die von der ICANN für die Verwaltung der Domains der ersten Ebene eingesetzt werden, oder durch die von der ICANN akkreditierten Registrierungsstellen, die so genannten "Registrars", zugeteilt werden.

Akkreditierungsabkommen für Registrierungsstellen

Liste der von der ICANN akkreditierten "Registrars"

Dem Antragsteller für einen Domain-Namen steht es frei, sich an den "Registrar" seiner Wahl zu wenden. Manche Registrars können Registrierungen in derselben Domain zu unterschiedlichen Tarifen anbieten. 


Strategie des Bundes für den Umgang mit Internet-Domain-Namen

Domain-Namen für das Internet sind zentral für unseren digitalen Alltag. Damit der Bund die Interessen der Schweiz auf dem globalen Markt ausreichend vertreten kann, hat der Bundesrat am 27. Februar 2013 eine Strategie verabschiedet. Attraktive Domain-Namen sollen stets genügend und sicher zur Verfügung stehen und transparent verwaltet werden.

.ch-Internetadressen

Für die technische Verwaltung der .ch-Domain in Zusammenhang mit dem globalen Domainnamen-System ist die Stiftung SWITCH zuständig. Sie hat die im April 2016 lancierte öffentliche Ausschreibung für sich entscheiden können. Seit Inkrafttreten der Verordnung über Internet-Domains (VID) 2015 kann SWITCH Endkundinnen und Endkunden die Registrierung von .ch-Domainnamen nicht mehr direkt anbieten.

.swiss-Internetadressen

Die neue Internetdomain ".swiss" steht der Schweizer Gemeinschaft seit September 2015 zur Verfügung. Der Bund hat mit der ICANN (Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers), der globalen Verwaltungsstelle von Internetadressen, einen entsprechenden Vertrag abgeschlossen. Um den Wettbewerb und die Vielfalt im Domainnamen-System zu fördern, sind nach und nach neue Endungen für Internet-Domainnamen verfügbar. Zu den 22 herkömmlichen generischen Domain-Endungen wie ".com", ".org" oder ".info" kommen thematische (z.B. ".hotel", ".bank"), geografische (z.B. ".berlin", ".florida") oder Marken-Endungen hinzu. Diese Neuerung basiert auf einem Entscheid der ICANN.

Fachkontakt
Letzte Änderung 08.09.2015

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.bakom.admin.ch/content/bakom/de/home/digital-und-internet/internet/internet-domain-namen.html