Radio microphones

It is more than thirty years since radio microphones first appeared. Today they are in very widespread use in the audiovisual sector, as well as for conferences, public debates, concerts, etc… A radio microphone gives the speaker great freedom of movement. Generally low-power, they use different frequency bands. The use of such equipment is subject to the regulations on telecommunications.

Radio microphones saw the light of day with the appearance of transistors, which made it possible to miniaturise these devices. At that time, the technology enabled transmitters to be produced easily in the frequency ranges from 30 MHz to 200 MHz and the first radio microphones used those frequencies, sharing the frequency bands with other users.

Frequencies

Today, despite the efforts at harmonisation in Europe, the frequency bands allocated to the use of radio microphones are very often subject to national restrictions. European Radiocommunications Committee recommendation ERC/REC 70-03 concerning the use of short-range radio (SRD short-range devices) mentions the national restrictions for the 6 frequency bands available to radio microphones, together with the technical parameters, such as radiated power and the harmonised standards applicable in this area.

For Switzerland, the Federal Office of Communications (OFCOM) has adopted this document with its specific restrictions linked to the national frequency plan (NAFZ) and has issued a whole series of technical regulations.

The table below indicates the authorised power and the technical regulations for each frequency band (wireless microphones can be operated without a license):

Frequency band Maximum transit power Technical regulations Remarks

31.4 - 39.6 MHz

100 mW ERP

RIR1009-01

Use only in the channels indicated in RIR 1009-01

174 - 223 MHz

50 mW ERP

RIR1009-02

 

470 - 694 MHz 50 mW ERP RIR1009-10  
694 - 733 MHz 50 mW ERP RIR1009-10 Use only possible until 31.12.2018
738 - 786 MHz 50 mW ERP RIR1009-10 Use only possible until 31.12.2018
477 - 694 MHz 250 mW ERP RIR1009-11 Use only in the channels indicated in RIR 1009-11
701 - 726 MHz 250 mW ERP RIR1009-11 Use only in the channels indicated in RIR 1009-11 until 31.12.2018 possible
741 - 782 MHz 250 mW ERP RIR1009-11 Use only in the channels indicated in RIR 1009-11 until 31.12.2018 possible
823 - 826 MHz 20 mW EIRP
(ca. 12 mW ERP)
RIR1009-18 100 mW EIRP (ca. 60 mW ERP) for wireless microphones carried on the body

826 - 832 MHz

100 mW EIRP
(ca. 60 mW ERP)

RIR1009-13

 

863 - 865 MHz

10 mW ERP

RIR1009-05

 

1785 - 1800 MHz 20 mW EIRP
(ca. 12 mW ERP)
RIR1009-09 50 mW EIRP (ca. 30 mW ERP) for wireless microphones carried on the body or with built-in Spectrum Scanning Procedure (SSP)
1800 - 1804.8 MHz 20 mW EIRP
(ca. 12 mW ERP)
 RIR1009-09 50 mW EIRP (ca. 30 mW ERP) for wireless microphones carried on the body or with built-in Spectrum Scanning Procedure (SSP)

Notes:

  • The use of radio microphones in the bands 733 - 738 MHz, 786 - 789 MHz, 789 - 823 MHz and 832 - 862 MHz is forbidden.
  • As of 01.01.2019 the use of radio microphones in the bands 694 - 823 MHz is forbidden.
  • As of 01.01.2019 in the former TV band only the bands 470 - 694 MHz, 823 - 826 MHz and 826 - 832 MHz will be available.
  • Wireless microphones can also operate in some other frequency bands. For example, in the frequency ranges intended for non-specific short-distance radio applications or in the frequency range for DECT (Digital Enhanced Cordless Telecommunications) at 1880 MHz. The technical interface requirements RIR1008 define the frequency ranges and radio parameters for non-specific applications, the RIR0503-01 for DECT in the 1880 MHz frequency range.

Frequency coordination for licence exempted PMSE users

The coordination of frequencies used by wireless microphones at special events (e.g. concerts, exhibitions, press conferences, etc.) will no longer be handled by OFCOM. The Office will also cease to intervene in the event of interference caused by the simultaneous use of two or more wireless microphones on the same frequency. It should be noted that completely interference-free operation is not guaranteed for the frequencies available to wireless microphones. It is therefore the responsibility of the event organiser to commission specialist private companies or to let the various users on site reach agreement.

Licence exempted PMSE users can register equipment on a voluntary basis to the database provided by a third party in order to coordinate frequency use at events.

Placing on the market

Radio microphones are subject to compliance with the usual conditions for placing telecommunication equipment on the market: conformity assessment procedure successfully passed, declaration of conformity, marking and user information.

When radio microphones totaly or partly equiped with the frequency bands 733 - 738 MHz, 786 - 789 MHz, 789 - 823 MHz and 832 - 862 MHz (bands which cannot be used for radio microphones anymore) are placed on the market, the packaging must bear the indication of a restriction in Switzerland and the information that the radio microphone cannot be used on these frequency bands has to appear in the instructions for use (more information). This will avoid disturbances of other services.

Specialist staff
Last modification 12.04.2019

Top of page

https://www.bakom.admin.ch/content/bakom/en/home/geraete-anlagen/besondere-geraete/drahtlose-mikrofone.html

Drahtlose Mikrofone

Vor über dreissig Jahren kamen drahtlose Mikrofone auf. Heute sind sie aus der audiovisuellen Branche, aber auch aus Konferenzen, öffentlichen Debatten, Konzerten usw. nicht mehr wegzudenken. Drahtlose Mikrofone geben Rednern viel Bewegungsfreiheit. Sie weisen im Allgemeinen eine schwache Leistung auf und arbeiten in verschiedenen Frequenzbändern. Die Verwendung eines solchen Geräts ist der Fernmelderegulierung unterstellt.

Drahtlose Mikrofone entstanden mit dem Aufkommen von Transistoren, da sie dadurch auf eine minimale Grösse reduziert werden konnten. Dank dieser Technologie war es damals einfach, Sender in den Frequenzbereichen von 30 MHz bis 200 MHz zu entwickeln. Die ersten drahtlosen Mikrofone belegten diese Frequenzen und teilten die Frequenzbänder mit anderen Nutzern.

Frequenzen

Trotz der Harmonisierungsbemühungen in Europa sind heute die für die Nutzung drahtloser Mikrofone bestimmten Frequenzbänder oft Gegenstand nationaler Einschränkungen. Die Empfehlung des Europäischen Funkausschusses ERC/REC 70-03 betreffend die Nutzung von Funkanlagen mit kurzer Reichweite (SRD, short range devices) erwähnt die nationalen Einschränkungen für die sechs Frequenzbänder, die für drahtlose Mikrofone verfügbar sind. Ebenfalls genannt werden die technischen Parameter, wie die Strahlungsleistung und die in diesem Bereich geltenden harmonisierten Normen.

Für die Schweiz hat das Bundesamt für Kommunikation (BAKOM) auf Grund der durch den Nationalen Frequenzzuweisungsplan (NaFZ) vorgegebenen Einschränkungen, dieses Dokument verabschiedet,  indem eine Reihe von technischen Anforderungen erlassen wurden.

Die unten stehende Tabelle zeigt die erlaubten Leistungen und die anwendbaren Technischen Anforderungen für jedes einzelne Frequenzband auf (drahtlose Mikrophone können ohne Konzession betrieben werden): 

Frequenzbereich Maximale
Sendeleistung
Technische Anforderungen Bemerkungen
31.4 - 39.6 MHz 100 mW ERP RIR1009-01 Nutzung nur in den in der RIR1009-01 angegebenen Kanälen
174 - 223 MHz 50 mW ERP RIR1009-02  
470 - 694 MHz 50 mW ERP RIR1009-10  
694 - 733 MHz 50 mW ERP RIR1009-10 Nutzung bis 31.12.2018 möglich
738 - 786 MHz 50 mW ERP RIR1009-10 Nutzung bis 31.12.2018 möglich
477 - 694 MHz 250 mW ERP RIR1009-11 Nutzung nur in den in der RIR1009-11 angegebenen Kanälen
701 - 726 MHz 250 mW ERP RIR1009-11 Nutzung bis 31.12.2018 nur in den in der RIR1009-11 angegebenen Kanälen möglich
741 - 782 MHz 250 mW ERP RIR1009-11 Nutzung bis 31.12.2018 nur in den in der RIR1009-11 angegebenen Kanälen möglich

823 - 826 MHz

20 mW EIRP (ca. 12 mW ERP)

RIR1009-18

100 mW EIRP (ca. 60 mW ERP) für am Körper getragene drahtlose Mikrofone

826 - 832 MHz

100 mW EIRP
(ca. 60 mW ERP)

RIR1009-13

 

863 - 865 MHz

10 mW ERP

RIR1009-05

 

1785 - 1800 MHz

20 mW EIRP
(ca. 12 mW ERP)

RIR1009-09

50 mW EIRP (ca. 30 mW ERP) für am Körper getragene drahtlose Mikrofone oder mit eingebauter Spectrum Scanning Procedure (SSP)

1800 - 1804.8 MHz

20 mW EIRP
(ca. 12 mW ERP)

RIR1009-09 50 mW EIRP (ca. 30 mW ERP) für am Körper getragene drahtlose Mikrofone oder mit eingebauter Spectrum Scanning Procedure (SSP)

Hinweise:

  • Die Nutzung der Frequenzbänder 733 - 738 MHz, 786 - 789 MHz, 789 - 823 MHz und 832 - 862 MHz durch drahtlose Mikrofone ist verboten.
  • Ab 01.01.2019 ist die Nutzung der Frequenzbänder 694 - 823 MHz durch drahtlose Mikrofone verboten.
  • Ab 01.01.2019 stehen im ehemaligen TV Band nur noch die Bereiche 470 – 694 MHz, 823 – 826 MHz und 826 – 832 MHz zur Verfügung.
  • Drahtlose Mikrofone können auch in einigen anderen Frequenzbändern betrieben werden. Zum Beispiel in den für nicht-spezifische Kurzstreckenfunkanwendungen vorgesehenen Frequenzbereichen oder in dem für DECT (Digital Enhanced Cordless Telecommunications) vorgesehenen Frequenzbereich bei 1880 MHz. Die Technischen Schnittstellen Anforderungen RIR1008 definieren die Frequenzbereiche und Funkparameter für die nicht-spezifischen Anwendungen, die RIR0503-01 für DECT im 1880 MHz Frequenzbereich.

Freiwillige Frequenzkoordination für konzessionsbefreite PMSE Geräte

Die Koordination der Frequenzen, die von drahtlosen Mikrofonen an besonderen Anlässen (z.B. Konzerte, Ausstellungen, Pressekonferenzen usw.) genutzt werden, wird nicht mehr vom BAKOM übernommen. Das Amt greift auch bei Störungen, die bei der gleichzeitigen Nutzung derselben Frequenz durch zwei oder mehr drahtlose Mikrofone entstehen, nicht mehr ein. Zur Erinnerung: Die völlig störungsfreie Nutzung ist bei den für drahtlose Mikrofone verfügbaren Frequenzen nicht gewährleistet. Es ist somit Sache des Veranstalters, darauf spezialisierte Privatunternehmen zu beauftragen oder es den verschiedenen Nutzern vor Ort zu überlassen, sich zu einigen.

Nutzer von konzessionsbefreiten PMSE Geräten können sich auf freiwilliger Basis auf der von dritter Seite bereitgestellten Datenbank registrieren um den Frequenzeinsatz bei Anlässen zu koordinieren.

Alle andern Geräte dürfen nur mit einer gültigen Funkkonzession in Betrieb genommen werden. Zum Antragsformular

Inverkehrbringen

Die drahtlosen Mikrofone unterliegen den üblichen Voraussetzungen des Inverkehrbringens von Fernmeldeanlagen: Erfolgreich abgeschlossenes Konformitätsbewertungverfahren, Beachtung des Nationalen Frequenzzuweisungsplan, Konformitätserklärung, Kennzeichnung und Benutzerinformationen.

Beim Inverkehrbringen von drahtlosen Mikrofonen, die teilweise oder ganz mit den Bändern 733 - 738 MHz, 786 - 789 MHz, 789 - 823 MHz und 832 - 862 MHz ausgerüstet sind (Bänder, welche nicht mehr für drahtlose Mikrofone genutzt werden können), die Verpackung muss die Angabe einer Einschränkung in der Schweiz tragen und die Information, dass das drahtlose Mikrofon nicht auf diesen Frequenzen genutzt werden darf, muss in der Bedienungsanleitung stehen (detaillierte Informationen). Dadurch werden Störungen anderer Dienste vermieden.

Fachkontakt
Letzte Änderung 08.10.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.bakom.admin.ch/content/bakom/de/home/geraete-anlagen/besondere-geraete/drahtlose-mikrofone.html