CEPT – The European Conference of Postal and Telecommunications Administrations

The European Conference of Postal and Telecommunications Administrations (CEPT) works to create dynamic postal and telecommunications markets in Europe.

CEPT is a regional organisation comprising decision-makers and regulators from 48 European countries who work together to harmonise telecommunications, radio spectrum and postal services to improve efficiency and coordination for the benefit of European consumers. Its member administrations also draw up joint European proposals for submission to specialised United Nations agencies, such as the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) and the Universal Postal Union (UPU).  

Importance for Switzerland

CEPT’s pan-European coordination mechanisms and harmonisation work are particularly important for Switzerland as a non-EU member state. They prevent Switzerland from becoming internationally isolated and help to protect Swiss interests in the postal and telecommunications sector throughout Europe and the world.   

OFCOM’s role

OFCOM represents Switzerland in CEPT and is actively involved in the three CEPT committees: the Electronic Communications Committee (ECC), the Committee for ITU Policy (Com-ITU) and the European Committee for Postal Regulation (CERP).

Its work with respect to telecommunications and postal services is focused on:

  • harmonising the use of scarce resources in Europe (radio frequencies, orbital satellite positions and address elements);
  • defending the joint positions of the CEPT member administrations at international conferences, such as the ITU plenipotentiary and world radio communications conferences, and the UPU congresses.

Specialist staff
Last modification 22.10.2021

Top of page