Use of the fee revenue

Verteilung der Abgabe
Broadcasters which receive a share of the fee

The revenue from the fee, approximately CHF 1.37 billion annually, will be used to fund the radio/television programme services of the SSR SRG and for licensed commercial broadcasters (local radio stations and commercial television channels). In this way, the public service will be guaranteed in all parts of the country and democracy will be strengthened; the entire country and all its inhabitants will benefit.

Fee-splitting for private radio and television stations

The partially revised Radio and Television Act (RTVA) has been in force since 1 July 2016. This means that the proportion of fees for broadcasters entitled to fee-splitting can amount to 4 to 6 per cent of the revenue from the radio and television fee. On 25 May 2016 and 18 October 2017, the Federal Council decided to award greater financial resources to local radio and television stations. It initially increased the corresponding proportion to 5 per cent, or by CHF 13.5 million, and to 6 per cent from 2019.

Thus, a total of CHF 81 million will be allocated to local radio stations and regional televisions.

The following overview shows the share of fees allocated to the local radios and regional televisions from 1 January 2019.

More detailed information about administration of fee-splitting and other documentation can be found in the German, French and Italian language versions.

Specialist staff
Last modification 01.11.2023

Top of page


Zukunftstrasse 44
2501 Biel

Tel. 058 460 55 11

Sector radio-television fee
Tel. 058 460 54 39

Post office box
8010 Zürich
Tel. 058 201 31 67

Contact Serafe

FTA (Federal tax administration)

Main Division for Value Added Tax
Schwarztorstrasse 50
3003 Berne


Print contact