The scope of the universal service

The scope of the universal service is reviewed periodically by the Federal Council. It consists mainly of the public telephone service, a broadband internet connection and specific services for the disabled.

Services

Telephony and internet access

Consumers receive a multipurpose connection allowing them to benefit from:

  • the public telephone service (making and receiving of national and international telephone calls in real time, with one or three telephone numbers),
  • an entry in the public telephone service directory (households are entitled to two free entries),
  • an internet access service guaranteeing a transmission speed of 3000/300 kbit/s (in exceptional cases, this speed may be lower).

It should be noted that the universal service licensee is not obliged to provide broadband access when a comparable alternative offering is offered on the market by another operator.

Services for the disabled

Specific services intended for the hearing-impaired, partially sighted and persons with reduced mobility are also provided as part of the universal service. These are transcription services, relaying of short messages (SMS), relaying by videotelephony (a new service) and directory and switching services. The services forming part of the universal service must in effect be provided in such a way that they can be used by the disabled under conditions which are qualitatively, quantitatively and economically comparable to those offered to those who are not disabled.

Quality

The universal service licensee must analyse the quality of the universal service it provides. Technical and administrative regulations regulate the (annualised average) target values to be achieved in terms of quality. The various measurements of quality are contained in an annual report intended for OFCOM.

Ceiling prices

Some services forming part of the universal service are subject to ceiling prices. From 1 January 2018, the maximum amounts (excluding VAT) are as follows:

  • connections: putting a connection into service: CHF 40.00 (a one-off charge),
  • public telephone service with one telephone number and one or two entries in the subscrber directory (including connection): CHF 23.45 per month,
  • public telephone service with three telephone numbers (including the connection): CHF 16.55 per month in addition to the amount charged for the public telephone service with one telephone number (CHF 23.45 per month)
  • internet access service (including the connection): CHF 45 per month,
  • public telephone service with one telephone number and one or two entries in the subscriber directory and internet access service (including the connection): CHF 55 per month,
  • Calls
    CHF 0.075 per minute for national calls on the fixed network.
    CHF 0.034 per minute for transcription services for the hearing-impaired.
    Calls are billed by the second and rounded up to the next 10 centimes.

Technical and administrative regulations (TAR)

These technical and administrative regulations are based on Art. 17, para. 1 of the Telecommunications Act (TCA) and on Art. 21, para. 2 of the Ordinance on Telecommunications Services (OTS). They apply only to the licensee for the universal telecommunications service and regulate the quality-related aspects of the services offered, as well as the format and precision of the quality report.

These technical and administrative regulations are based on Art. 62, para. 2, TCA and on Art. 16, para. 5, OTS. They describe the technical and administrative specifications which the universal service licensee must comply with at the network termination point (NTP).

Specialist staff
Last modification 01.01.2018

Top of page

https://www.bakom.admin.ch/content/bakom/en/home/telekommunikation/grundversorgung-im-fernmeldebereich/umfang-der-grundversorgung.html

Umfang der Grundversorgung

Der Umfang der Grundversorgung wird vom Bundesrat periodisch überprüft. Die Grundversorgung umfasst den öffentlichen Telefondienst, einen Breitband-Internetanschluss und besondere Dienste für Behinderte.

Dienstleistungen

Telefonie und Internetzugang

Die Konsumentinnen und Konsumenten erhalten einen multifunktionalen Anschluss, der Folgendes umfasst:

  • den öffentlichen Telefondienst (das Führen nationaler und internationaler Telefongespräche in Echtzeit, mit einer oder drei Telefonnummern)
  • einen Eintrag im Verzeichnis des öffentlichen Telefondienstes (Haushalte haben Anspruch auf zwei kostenlose Einträge)
  • einen Breitband-Internetzugang mit einer garantierten Übertragungsrate von 3000/300 kbit/s (in Ausnahmefällen kann diese Rate reduziert werden)

Es sei darauf hingewiesen, dass die Grundversorgungskonzessionärin nicht verpflichtet ist, einen Breitbandanschluss anzubieten, wenn ein vergleichbares Angebot einer anderen Anbieterin auf dem Markt vorhanden ist.

Dienste für Behinderte

Besondere Dienste für Personen mit einer Hör- oder Sehbehinderung oder mit eingeschränkter Mobilität sind ebenfalls im Rahmen der Grundversorgung vorgesehen: ein Transkriptionsdienst, ein SMS-Vermittlungsdienst, ein Vermittlungsdienst über Videotelefonie (neu) sowie ein Verzeichnis- und Vermittlungsdienst. Die Dienste der Grundversorgung müssen landesweit so angeboten werden, dass Menschen mit Behinderungen sie in qualitativer, quantitativer und wirtschaftlicher Hinsicht unter vergleichbaren Bedingungen wie Menschen ohne Behinderungen beanspruchen können.

Qualität

Die Grundversorgungskonzessionärin muss die Qualität ihrer Grundversorgungsdienste überwachen. Eine technische und administrative Vorschrift regelt die zu erreichenden Zielwerte (Jahresdurchschnittswerte) in Bezug auf die Qualität. Die verschiedenen Qualitätsmassnahmen werden in einem Jahresbericht an das BAKOM festgehalten.

Preisobergrenzen

Für einige Grundversorgungsdienste wurden Preisobergrenzen festgelegt. Ab dem 1. Januar 2018 gelten folgende Höchstbeträge (exkl. MwSt.): 

  • Anschlüsse: Aufschaltung eines Anschlusses: 40 Franken (einmalige Gebühr)
  • öffentlicher Telefondienst mit einer Telefonnummer und einem oder zwei Verzeichniseinträgen (inkl. Anschluss): 23.45 Franken pro Monat
  • öffentlicher Telefondienst mit drei Telefonnummern (inkl. Anschluss): 16.55 Franken pro Monat zusätzlich zum Betrag für den öffentlichen Telefondienst mit einer Telefonnummer (23.45 Franken pro Monat)
  • Breitband-Internetzugang (inkl. Anschluss): 45 Franken pro Monat
  • öffentlicher Telefondienst mit einer Telefonnummer und einem oder zwei Verzeichniseinträgen und Internetzugang (inkl. Anschluss): 55 Franken pro Monat
  • Verbindungen:
    7.5 Rappen pro Minute für nationale Verbindungen im Festnetz
    3.4 Rappen pro Minute für Transkriptionsdienste für Hörbehinderte
    Diese Verbindungen werden nach Anzahl Sekunden verrechnet und auf die nächsten 10 Rappen aufgerundet.

Technische und administrative Vorschriften (TAV)

Diese technischen und administrativen Vorschriften stützen sich auf Artikel 17 Absatz 1 des Fernmeldegesetzes (FMG) und Artikel 21 Absatz 2 der Verordnung über Fernmeldedienste (FDV). Sie richten sich ausschliesslich an die Grundversorgungskonzessionärin im Fernmeldebereich und regeln die Qualität der angebotenen Dienste sowie das Format und die Ausführlichkeit des Qualitätsberichts.

Diese technischen und administrativen Vorschriften stützen sich auf Artikel 62 Absatz 2 FMG und Artikel 16 Absatz 5 FDV. Sie beschreiben die technischen und administrativen Spezifikationen, die die Grundversorgungskonzessionärin am Netzabschlusspunkt (NTP; Network Termination Point) einzuhalten hat.

Fachkontakt
Letzte Änderung 01.01.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.bakom.admin.ch/content/bakom/de/home/telekommunikation/grundversorgung-im-fernmeldebereich/umfang-der-grundversorgung.html